Practice Sequences

yoga practice sequences

Practice Sequences

These sequences are meant for Iyengar students who have already been taught how to safely enter and exit the poses.

The duration that you hold each pose is individual. Aim for 30 seconds for each pose (or for each side if it is a two-sided pose), but bear in mind that how long you hold a pose is very individual. If you find that your body shakes or there is strain, it’s time to come out. If any pose causes you pain, come out of the pose and skip it. When you return to class you and your teacher can work together on how to adapt the pose to resolve the pain. You can stay in savasana for anywhere from 3 minutes to 20 minutes.

Click on the images for the actions in each pose.

Sequence One

Adho Mukha Svanasana, Uttanasana, Tadasana, Urdhva Hastasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Salabhasana, Marichyasana I, Paschimottanasana, Savasana

Adho Mukha Svanasana

1. Adho Mukha Svanasana

Concave Uttanasana

2. Concave Uttanasana


3. Uttanasana


4. Tadasana

Urdhva Hastasana

5. Urdhva Hastasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana

6. Utthita Parsvakonasana


7. Salabhasana

Marichyasana I

8. Marichyasana I

Paschimottanasana Concave

9. Concave Paschimottanasana


10. Paschimottanasana


11. Savasana

Sequence Two

Tadasana, Baddha Hastasana in Tadasana, Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana I, Utthita Parsva Hasta Padangusthasana II, Virabhadrasana I, Gomukhasana, Bharadvajasana I, Janu Sirsasana Concave, Janu Sirsasana, Chatuspadasana, Savasana


1. Tadasana

Baddha Hastasana in Tadasana

2. Baddha Hastasana in Tadasana

Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana I

3. Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana I

Utthita Parsva Hasta Padangusthasana II

4. Utthita Parsva Hasta Padangusthasana II


5. Virabhadrasana I


6. Gomukhasana

Bharadvajasana I

7. Bharadvajasana I

Janu Sirsasana Concave

8. Janu Sirsasana Concave

Janu Sirsasana

9. Janu Sirsasana


10. Chatuspadasana


11. Savasana

Sequence Three

Tadasana, Parvatasana in Tadasana, Vrksasana, Utthita Trikonasana, Dhanurasana, Baddha Konasana, Marichyasana III, Dandasana, Baddha Hastasana in Dandasana, Urdhva Prasarita Padasana, Supta Sukhasana, Supta Eka Pada Pavana Muktasana, Savasana


1. Tadasana

Parvatasana in Tadasana

2. Parvatasana in Tadasana


3. Vrksasana

Utthita Trikonasana

4. Utthita Trikonasana


5. Dhanurasana

Baddha Konasana

6. Baddha Konasana

Marichyasana III

7. Marichyasana III


8. Dandasana

Baddha Hastasana in Dandasana

9. Baddha Hastasana in Dandasana

Urdhva Prasarita Padasana

10. Urdhva Prasarita Padasana

Supta Sukhasana

11. Supta Sukhasana

Supta Eka Pada Pavana Muktasana

12. Supta Eka Pada Pavana Muktasana


13. Savasana